Authentic Ninjutsu and Samurai Bujutsu from Soke Anshu Christa Jacobson (宗家 暗主)

Self Empowerment – Anshu Christa Jacobson

21st Soke Tomo-ryu; Anshu Christa Jacobson

Picture taken: 11.2011
Budo Ryu Hombu Dojo

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor and catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”- Mark Twain; 1835-1910

I love this quote, and it is how I live my life. Many times I get emails from people that are not students of the Budo Ryu that ask questions like; what does your students think about training with a woman? What do they think about your modeling and nude art? It is like you can feel that they want to make sure that they “fit in” or “agree on” the same things as the people here in the dojo. My only question to them is why? What do you think? That is all that matters.

I think they (my students here) see me more like another mom; you know? Honestly I think that they would all tell you that they do not think about any of those things because they never come up in training.

I know the world sees the modeling, the makeup, artistic nude photography, etc, etc. But I just be myself; not trying to impress anyone, just teach the arts in the hombu. I tell all of my kids, they need to live their life to be happy. Happiness is different for us all. They know that I love modeling, fashion, poetry, brush art, sports as well as artistic nude modeling / photography; it is part of who I am and what makes me happy. So they accept my hippie ass as part of who I am just as I accept all of what they do to make themselves happy as part of which they are. This too is a major lesson in budo, acceptance. Accept the fact that people are different, and even if they are not like you, accept that you cannot change that, and love them for who they are, not hate them for who they are not.

All of us look for self-empowerment, to be able to stand up and live our life the way that we want to be happy, but to do this you have to stay away from the things and people that are tearing you down and belittling your ambitions. Small people try to do that, but the really great ones are the ones that want to help you become what it is that you aspire to be, so do not surround yourself with people that are trying to tear you down, these people who are saying that it cannot be done, should not interrupt the ones that are doing it. Today live your life, don’t just be alive. There is a difference.

Thank you all for your support.

Take Care, Be Safe and Good Luck in your Journey of Budo.

“Be who you are and say what you feel because those that mind, do not matter, those who matter don’t mind.” – Dr. Seuss
Headmistress of the Budo RyuSchool of the Warrior Way
Chief Editor of the Shinobi no Mono Magazine

Leave a Reply

