Authentic Ninjutsu and Samurai Bujutsu from Soke Anshu Christa Jacobson (宗家 暗主)

Service to Others (侍) Samurai

Soke Christa Jacobson

SAMURAI (侍) ONE WHO SERVES:
.
Woke up at 9:00AM this morning, and just as a heads up, (to all of you for a little info about me) if I don’t wake up between 5:30 – 6:30AM every morning, get one cup of coffee and then do my cardio and abs, I just do not function well. Since I could not sleep last night, that action brings on this reaction.
service

.
The way that I see it, is that I am 35yrs old, half of my life is almost over, and I have so much that I want to do before I leave. I know it is a weird way of looking at things, but I just want to live my life to the fullest and that is one reason why I push so much to do all of the things that I do (just see my 8 websites and 3 blogs).
.
Wither people want to accept it or not, I have been giving a huge honor by my master to keep the tradition (Tomo-ryu) to the next generation and I need / want to do that to honor him and the tradition. I have friends, family, students and clients that all are looking for some “service”, not counting all of the things that I want to do for myself.
.
Service to others that is the key to Japanese culture and traditional arts. This word “service” is the word to understanding the meaning and the essence of the samurai, shinobi and geisha. These three words are words that can be used as descriptive words that I feel completely embodies and describe me as a person.
.
The word “Samurai” (侍) means “One who Serves”.
The word “Geisha” (芸者) means “One of the Arts”.
The word “Shinobi” (忍び) means “One of Stealth”.
.
All three of these identities (for lack of a better word) portray me in some aspect or another in my life. Last night at 1AM in the morning, I was watching this movie “Peaceful Warrior” and Socrates made a statement that was so true and I feel embodies my life. — “Service to others, there is no higher purpose”.
.
In the movie, this kid looks at Socrates and says:
Kid: “Hey, if you know so much, why are you working in a gas station”?
Socrates: “This is a service station, we offer service; there is no higher power”.

.

.

When you watch this scene, if you take out the word “gas station” and replace that with Budo Ryu Dojo, Modeling, Entertainment and so on, this one part of the movie hit me really hard, because it is how I feel and I do not think that people understand how I feel and why I do what I do.
.
I know most of you are going to read this and assume that I am having a bad day, and hell, maybe I am. But I have always said, Budo is not about being better than anyone else, it is about being better than what you were yesterday. To do this you have to make yourself stronger while helping the others around get stronger. Again “helping others” or “service” again becomes a major part understanding.
.
I hope that you all understand today’s lesson?
.
Take Care, Be Safe and Good Luck in your Journey

Leave a Reply

